It’s Just A Matter of F**kin’ Principles, Man!

One of the major difficulties dealing with Dominican culture is this idea of impulsive sharing and giving. Let me explain.

Simple example: a person offer to give away an item that doesn’t belong to them to someone else. The person believes that it is fine to do so, because the item’s owner previously had a similar item that the same owner threw away, and this particular item hasn’t been used for a while, for reasons unknown to him. With this idea in mind, the person decides to offer this item to another person without asking the owner for permission to do so. The person assumes it is fine, and that the owner will not object, because the person who will supposedly receive this item is less fortunate. The person also assumes that the owner will not object, because if they were to, then the owner will be assumed to be a selfish bitch. And if traditions follows, the owner will try to avoid such an association and the owner will, without hesitation, give up the item.

And to this I declare bullshit. Bullshit! Now I will present my situation.

My Playstation 2 (PS2), has had the misfortune of being put off to the side because I bought a XBOX360 and space is limited. I haven’t had the time to make space to at least hook it up in my bedroom. I have been wanting to buy a bookcase or cabinet of some sort to place it. I did throw away the previous PS One, for the obvious reason that, hey, I have a PS2, so why play the old version?

During an emergency trip to the Dominican Republic, my dad assumed that it was fine to offer my PS2 to a child my uncle took in as his own. He didn’t say “Oh I will see what I will do” or “maybe my daughter has a spare game system lying around.” No, of course fuckin’ not. He said “I have a game system that I can give you.”

It’s not his! It’s not in his possession! He didn’t waste more than $500 on this game console, games, accessories and rentals! I did! Even when he did come back, he still didn’t ask. My mother just said, “oh your father offered your PS2 to someone else, we have to ship it out.” What the fuck? Did I just get selective amnesia and completely forget that I agreed to give up the PS2?

“But oh, you have the XBOX, and you just have the PS2, and we thought that you were going to throw it out like the other one.” Hey! PS2 and PS One: same company; PS2 is the updated version of PS One. XBOX is not equivalent to PS2. So why would I throw my PS2 away if they are completely different systems? But, of course, these technologically-impaired individuals do not understand this concept.

But now, apparently I’m selfish. “Oh, now what are we going to do? We promised him that we will send him the system.” Boo-tothefuck-hoo. That is not my problem. “Oh, but he’s looking forward to it. You have so much, and he has so little.” Look, who the hell made the offer? Not me. Who got themselves involved in this issue? Not me.

This is my real problem: the lack of respect for others’ property. Seriously, did my father not think for a moment that he should check with me first to see if I would want to give up the system? Why would a parent even for a second consider that it would be fine to simply offer their children’s things (especially things that they did not pay for) because others are less fortunate (and their children would selfish to object to the offering)?

If my father would have discussed this with me in advance without promising the child anything, we could have worked some thing out. But since, he just offered it away, and he still hasn’t said a word about it to me (my mother has been the middlewoman), I’m going to be very stubborn about this shit.

It’s just a matter of fuckin’ principles, man!

Update:  So I gave away the PS2, but charged a penalty fee.  So, I’m a bitch, sue me.

~ by Luci-Kali on July 26, 2007.

2 Responses to “It’s Just A Matter of F**kin’ Principles, Man!”

  1. just another blog

    but more interesting than most 😛

  2. Not a bitch- i would had done the same. Dominican parents!! My mom is the same way- cono!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
