Follow-Up #1: The Anheuser-Busch “Spanish” Ads Saga Continues…

As Randy Paul mentioned in the comment section of my initial post on the Bud Light ads, there is an additional ad in the Bud Light series that I didn’t discuss:

Bad Marketing Skills
“Parking” and “Building” obviously are not words found in the Spanish language. Anheuser-Busch tried to be clever by using Spanglish within this ad. I admit, the occasional Spanglish will come out of my mouth, usually when I’m in a hurry to answer and I can’t think of the Spanish word that I’m struggling with, or when I’m pissed off and I have no rationale to answer in proper Spanish. However, is “Spanglish” a good marketing tool to use?

No, I don’t think so. I don’t normally speak that way and I wouldn’t want my money being forked over to a company that thinks I speak that way. Most Latin@s I know don’t normally use Spanglish, and by all means, we are not perfect Spanish speakers. I personally have a tendency to mix up verb tenses and forms (all…the…bloody…time! Ask any US-born Latin@, they will probably tell you the same).

But, I definitely don’t say “parking,” I say “parqueo,” as most people I know would say, and it’s a better reflection of “borrowing” from another language. “Building” I am guilty of saying occasionally, but “edificio” is the better way to go. However, I will say that this is one of the clearer Bud Light ads, in terms of being able to understand it.

But again, I become further confused by Anheuser-Busch’s marketing department. Below are Anheuser-Busch’s Spanish subways ads for Budweiser:
Budweiser Ad 1

Budweiser Ad 2

Budweiser Ad 3
Look at that, proper Spanish! Why the hell didn’t they just use these ads to do a joint marketing campaign for both Budweiser and Bud Light, as other beer companies have done, such as Corona Extra and Corona Light, Presidente and Presidente Light?

I’m definitely sticking with Corona and Presidente…and Patron (I know it’s not beer, but shhhh!).

~ by Luci-Kali on August 26, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
