Death by Dominican Pudding Cake

This weekend, I attempted to make my first Dominican pudding cake, and that’s pretty much been my food intake for the past few days. I am very proud of my first attempt, better than what my mom has done in the past, but shhhhh!

The “pudding” variation is different from the standard Dominican cake in the following ways: 1) it has double the amount of eggs, 6 whole eggs, 4 yolks, and 4 whipped egg whites that are folded in at the very end; 2) the butter and sugar part is mixed for 30 minutes, while in the regular cake it’s mixed for about 10 minutes; 3) the texture of the final product is much softer, yet a bit dense, than the regular cake, which is grainy and airy.

I have seen that a few people have found my blog when they search for “dominican cake” recipes. For those who have found my blog that way, here’s a little gift for you:

(from “Cocina Dominicana”)
Dominican Pudding Cake
*All ingredients should be at room temperature

4 Bars of Butter, equivalent to 1 lb (Salted, NEVER, EVER Unsalted)
1 lb All-Purpose Flour (approximately 3 1/2 cups), sifted twice along with the baking powder
1 lb Sugar (2 cups using a standard measuring cup)
1 tablespoon Baking Powder
10 Small Eggs
8 oz Pineapple Juice (Orange Juice is fine; Milk is not recommended because the cake will not last as long)
1 tablespoon of Vanilla extract (use the real stuff, not the imitation)
1 tablespoon of grinded Lime peel.

Preparation:
Beat the butter first for 7 minutes. Then add the sugar gradually. Beat the butter and sugar mixture for 30 minutes. Separate the egg whites from four (4) of the eggs, reserve the egg whites for later. Add six whole eggs to the butter/sugar mixture, one at a time, beating for one minute each egg before adding the next. Also, add the separated egg yolks (not the whites!), again one at a time, beating for one minute each.

Reduce the speed of the mixer, add 1/3 the flour mixture, mix until just incorporated, add half of the juice. Mix in the remaining 2 parts of flour and one part of juice, and remember to not over mix. If it looks mixed, it’s mixed. Put the cake batter aside, clean the attachments and in another bowl, mix the 4 egg whites you initially separated until it forms peaks. Fold (do not mix) in the egg white mixture into the cake batter, slowly and carefully. At the end, fold in the vanilla extract and lime peel.

Pour the cake batter into a greased cakepan (the original recipe says that it can be poured into two 11in round pans or two 10×10 square pans, but I managed to pour the batter into a 9×12 pan; I had some leftover batter, enough for 4 standard-sized cupcakes). Put the pan in a preheated oven at 350 degrees, for 45 minutes (my oven sucks, it took well over an hour for it to bake, but it came out fine). Do not open the oven until after the 45 minute mark. To see if it’s done, take a fine knife, “stab” it at the center, and if it comes out clean, it’s done.

Suspiro (Dominican Frosting)
4 Egg Whites
1.5 cups Sugar
1/2 cup Water
1 tablespoon Lime Juice
Food Coloring (optional, but always fun)

Preparation:
In a small pan, mix the sugar and water. (This will take a good while) Let it boil until you see that when you dip a spoon into the syrup and take it out, the syrup starts to make thin threads as it drops. As the syrup is boiling, mix the egg whites until the peaks form. When the peaks begin to form, start to pour in the syrup gradually, yet constantly. Do not stop beating the frosting at any moment. Add the lime juice. The longer you mix the frosting, the harder and firmer the frosting will become. Gradually add in food coloring, until you get the color desired. Frost/decorate the cake after it has fully cooled.

Lessons Learned:
1. This recipe is not for impatient people.
2. Buy a stand mixer; preparing the cake batter for almost 50 minutes with a hand mixer was pure hell.
3. Do not over mix the batter after the flour is added in.
4. Apparently there’s really no such thing as adding in too much sugar syrup to the suspiro. I somewhat reduced the suspiro recipe, and also reduced the sugar syrup. I should have added more syrup, but it still came out fine. So, if anything, make a bit more syrup than suggested to be on the safe side.
5. The cupcakes that I made with the leftover batter came out really good. It took about 25 minutes to bake in my conventional (electric) oven. I might consider in the future to use this recipe for cupcakes, as well.

~ by Luci-Kali on September 3, 2007.

4 Responses to “Death by Dominican Pudding Cake”

  1. I am really glad to have found your blog. I am making a dominican cake in 2 days(I have only tried once before and it came out so so, I hope am prepared this time. My husband is dominican and some of his family live close(they do not bake deserts,so I get the job). Your tips seem very helpful, thanks. Keep blogging:)

  2. WOW! This recipe is wonderful, it came out beautiful! My husband was shocked, he said it was the best he ever had, family and friends have already requested I make it again very soon. Thank you so much.

    • I’m glad that it came out, especially on the first try of attempting this recipe! It’s not the easiest thing to do, particularly if external elements (such as weather and lack of patience!) are at play.

      Again, glad that it worked out very well!

  3. Your tip of patients was a significant factor in my success with this recipie. My husband left to go to the store while I was beating, with a hand mixer, and when he returned I was still with the hand mixer. And do to the recipie coming out so well, I will be finally getting my stand mixer next month, which hubby now sees is a need. Thanks again.:)

Leave a Reply

 
