Who Are You?

Renegade Evolution (or just Ren), guest blogging over at Feministe, asked readers “Who are you?”

When people ask you that question, how do you reply? When you are asked to write a self-bio, or someone does one for you, what is your identity? What words do you use to describe yourself? You are often only offered a few in order to give the world a glimpse of the vast, huge, complex thing you are. Who are you? What do you say?

Initially, I just had nine things written out, but then it evolved to 18. There are many excluded from the list, but these were the ones I was feeling the most at that particular moment. Below is my list in no particular order (which I had entered as a comment on her post):

1. Queer Latina, who gets mistaken for a little bit of everything.
2. Short, 5′0.”
3. Slightly struggling between the terms of “feminist” and “mujerista.”
4. My current job title is, in the broadest terms, Fundraiser for Mujerista-Centric Purposes. So I guess Mujerista it is!
4. Quarterlife crisis sufferer.
5. Cynic, acidic, sarcastic, borderline misanthrope. No tolerance for bigotry (not in the “please don’t say that because X is wrong,” way, but in the “Yo! STFU, before I beat your ass up” way. Seriously, I’m tired of having to explain why X is wrong.)
6. Fiercely anti-hipster.
7. Moderately militant.
8. Constant worrier about my financial health/wealth as my parents get closer to retirement age and it seems that I’m going to be a/the primary source of their income (they have no retirement plans; no substantial savings; debt; their pensions look miserable; Social Security in ten years? Their home country’s stability in ten years? My dad’s current gameplan: winning the lotto. Yeah, it’s pretty bad.)
9. Thus, constant worrier about my future career plans and current education plans, but…
10. I’m the classic procrastinator.
11. Weightlifter who enjoys both the health benefits and vanity aspects, in the sense that it garners attention (although the physical improvements are definitely a plus).
12. Aspiring belly dancer.
13. Reemerging goth, much to the horror of my parents (although this mentality is found almost everywhere, the goth subculture is viewed pretty much as a anti-Christian, Satanist movement in their home country).
14. A gamer, much to the annoyance of my parents (apparently I’m too old and there’s the issue of that pesky vagina that I walk around with).
15. Picky as hell (I can’t help it. My ideal partner has already been fabricated in my mind! That’s the person that I want!)
16. Anti-relationship, yet lonely (I admit it, I admit it!).
17. Toph (Avatar: the Last Airbender) is pretty much me in cartoon form, except that I’m not from a financially-privileged background, I’m not nomadic, I’m able-bodied (she’s blind, yet able to “see” through the vibrations she feels in the earth), and I’m double her age. But shit, everything else is pretty much dead on!
18…as demonstrated in No. 17, I’m Avatar-obsessed, and I’m unwilling to accept the fact that the show has ended. Everyone knows this about me…maybe this should have been No. 1.

~ by Luci-Kali on August 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
